Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

Too many tris?
CREATED: 08/10/09 by ShannonO REPLIES: 7
ShannonO    JOINED: 7/10/09    POSTS: 17
Too many tris?
POSTED: 8/10/09 10:35 AM

I completed my first sprint tri July 26, and am competing in my next on August 23rd. The first went _really_ well, and I recovered pretty quickly. (No soreness the next day, felt pretty good.)

I want to sign up for more tris before the end of the season, but I also plan to train for a half marathon as my primary Fall activity. How do I incorporate tri races into a 13 miler training plan? My plan involves two days of cross training where I intend to maintain my bike and swim fitness. My concern is just the races themselves needing taper and recovery. How easily can I slip a Tri into a weekend and continue my training runs the following week?

I'd appreciate any thoughts on this. I'm very new to all of this (started running and swimming for the first time Dec 2008), so I'm just not sure how much one can do!

ncrcoach's ravatar ncrcoach    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 1059
RE: Too many tris?
POSTED: 8/10/09 10:52 AM

The first question should be when is your half marathon? Since you are fairly new to tris, I wouldn't do one less than six weeks before your half marathon. I would suggest that you keep cross training as part of recovery and non-running days.

Triathlons are fun and it sounds like you've found a new sport. Hope this helps out.

POSTED: 8/10/09 10:56 AM

The half marathon would be the 14th of November, and I am looking at a sprint tri in mid-September. Cross-training will be two days a week on non-run days, definitely.

Thanks for the response!

nomisdc's ravatar nomisdc    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 615
POSTED: 8/10/09 11:09 AM

As Hugh mentioned, congrats on finding our sport. Agree with his sentiment on time between events.