Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

Work travel the week before the goal race
CREATED: 04/16/10 by DrWales REPLIES: 5
DrWales's ravatar DrWales    JOINED: 1/4/10    POSTS: 13
Work travel the week before the goal race
POSTED: 4/16/10 10:42 AM

As the title says, I will be in Snowmass, Colorado June 14-18, i.e., the week before the DC Triathlon. As I should be tapering, I'm not going to sweat the lack of workout opportunities too much, but is being at 8000 feet going to be a help or a (major) hindrance? Or less of a factor than fatigue from flying back late/overnight Friday night? Or am I way overthinking this?

The answer to the last question is almost certainly "yes," but I would like some feedback/ your experiences on the others.

Thanks,
Bob

jane456's ravatar jane456    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 69
RE: Work travel the week before the goal race
POSTED: 4/16/10 11:10 AM

I'm not an expert in this, but last week I was in Colorado for 3 days, didn't exercise at all (at 7500 ft, I think it would have killed me), and had a great long bike ride the day after getting home. I hadn't been riding, so I'm blaming the altitude :) So...if your experience is anything like mine, you'll be fine. Plus, it sounds like your trip is happening no matter what, so I wouldn't stress too much on what it's going to do to your training. Good luck!

Lindsey

alya72's ravatar alya72    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 49
POSTED: 4/16/10 12:43 PM

I agree with Lindsey. I had to go to a work meeting at Big Sky in Montana at around the same elevation and fly directly to an Ironman race and proceeded to have a stellar race. So no worries about the elevation-just don't get too tempted by all the hiking and mountain biking opportunities!

Amy

pgfde121's ravatar pgfde121    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 235
POSTED: 4/16/10 12:59 PM