Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

Aerobars
CREATED: 06/26/13 by AROD REPLIES: 6
AROD    JOINED: 1/16/13    POSTS: 27
Aerobars
POSTED: 6/26/13 9:47 AM

So after this last race I did I realized that my fitting is off. I was talking to some people who recommended using some aerobars to see if that helped. they recommended the following:
http://www.nashbar.com/bikes/ProductDisplay?storeId=10053&langId=-1&catalogId=10052&productId=547828&utm_source=Google_Product_Search&utm_medium=pla&utm_campaign=datafeed&cm_mmc=Google_Product_Search-_-PLA-_-Datafeed-_-Profile%20Design%20ZBS%20Stryke%20Bend%20Aerobars%20%20245Mm&CAWELAID=1482213953&catargetid=1572651293&cadevice=c&cagpspn=pla

Was told its a decent entry level aerobar without having to spend a large amount of money. Any recommendations or advice? I am new to this sport so other than some reviews I've read I have no idea what I should and shouldn't be looking for.

AROD

dsgrunning's ravatar dsgrunning    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 1293
RE: Aerobars
POSTED: 6/26/13 10:38 AM

Your bike fit is off, but you think that somehow aerobars will magically correct that? That does not make sense to me. What am I missing?

The areobars are designed to complement your current fit, not fix a bad one. If you have a bad fit, it will remain a bad fit regardless of the aerobars. Even if you slap on a top of the line aerobar, it won't fix your ill fit on the bike.

Here is what I suggest. Get a proper bike fitting. Ask the fitter to recommend an aerobar for you or show them the specs for the one you have in this thread. They will tell you, based on your fit coordinate, what aerobars will work for you. Not all aerobars are the same. They are like shoes. Just because they fit well on someone else or is expensive, does not mean that they will be the best fit for you.