DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

Races not to Miss - Looking ahead
CREATED: 09/15/10 by spleary REPLIES: 12
spleary's ravatar spleary    JOINED: 8/17/10    POSTS: 73
Races not to Miss - Looking ahead
POSTED: 9/15/10 8:47 AM

Hi all,

I'm new to triathlons and the dc tri club. I'll be completing my third sprint in a couple weeks at the Giant Acorn down at Lake Anna.

I've started looking ahead to next year/season. I went and signed up for the Columbia Triathlon (I registered first, then read about the challenging course, oops) but am now thinking ahead to other races next year.

What races are peoples favorites? I'm aiming for mostly olympics right now but would love to hear about other distances if you care to share. I have a half iron man as a goal, but that is much further down the road.

Looking forward to hearing from, and eventually meeting some of you!

-Scott

adilks    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 290
RE: Races not to Miss - Looking ahead
POSTED: 9/15/10 9:04 AM

Next year the Mid-Atlantic Club Championships is Rocketts Landing Triathlon on July 24th in Richmond. The Board will make a huge push to get as many club members down there to race. I have also heard great things about this race.

morunner66's ravatar morunner66    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 702
POSTED: 9/15/10 10:31 AM

I do all the local races despite higher registration fees in DC - DC Tri in June, Nations in September. I have limited ability to travel and also like to sleep at home rather than a hotel - or like Eagleman in a tent like the souls that are hardier than me.

kkaufer's ravatar kkaufer    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 125
POSTED: 9/15/10 10:35 AM

Hi - and welcome to the wonderful world of s, b, r (and e -- EAT!). One of my favorite local Olys is the Rumpass in Bumpass, usually in April (and definitely flatter than Columbia). It's run by setupevents.com. They host several really nice races. Also check out trifind.net -- you can search for races by state.