Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

Ironman Wisconsin Race Report
CREATED: 09/15/10 by adilks REPLIES: 3
adilks    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 290
Ironman Wisconsin Race Report
POSTED: 9/15/10 9:09 AM

This was my second Ironman in two years. Last year I had a great race in Lake Placid and knew that I probably wouldn’t beat my time from last year. Overall I had a great training year but ran into a few obstacles while training.

Six Months of Training
I went through a ton of medical tests in the spring, just when I started training, to find out that I have a damaged kidney. Luckily my doctor determined that I didn’t need surgery. The kidney is damaged but it isn’t getting any worse. I just have to make sure that if I fall on my bike, that I fall to the right. Good news because the way that I usually go down.

I also had a couple back to back trips that interfered with my training and then I ended up with bronchitis and pulled a muscle in my side from coughing. I had to take about 2 weeks off of training and over 3 weeks off of swimming. Before I got sick I felt like I was really making some progress on my swim stroke but after the time off I never felt comfortable in the water again.

I started to seriously consider withdrawing from the race but when I got back into the training my bike and run were feeling great. I stuck to my training plan and was making great progress and soon realized that I was going to do Ironman Wisconsin on September 12, 2010.

Days leading up to Race