Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

T/T Bike Advice for Small Female?
CREATED: 12/02/13 by EBWestbrook REPLIES: 8
EBWestbrook's ravatar EBWestbrook    JOINED: 9/8/13    POSTS: 2
T/T Bike Advice for Small Female?
POSTED: 12/02/13 9:01 PM

I have been racing for two years on a Cannondale CAAD 10 road bike and am ready to purchase my first tri bike. I am struggling (as I did when I purchased the road bike) because I am tiny. (My CAAD is a 44!) I have found a couple bikes I like (especially the Cervelo P3) that come in a 45, however they all come on 650c wheels. Would love advice/opinions/anecdotes on the virtues of going for the 650s vs. continuing to search or trying to stretch (I know, terrible) onto a larger frame. My biggest concerns are speed (of course) and maintenance - especially should I have accidents or break downs on the road.

Thank you all!

kev7's ravatar kev7    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 456
RE: T/T Bike Advice for Small Female?
POSTED: 12/03/13 7:08 AM

My race bike is a QR Caliente in XS (~ 46) with 650 wheels. It is an older model so the frame may not be as "aero" as some newer designs, but it is plenty fast for me. I like 650 wheels because I can get in a good aero position and it climbs well for a tri bike. I was able to power up the Westernport Wall at Savageman with no problem. Never had an issue with maintenance, tires, tubes, etc. Typically I carry two tubes on my training rides. In case of an emergency, you can install a 700 tube by "folding over/overlapping" the tube to make it smaller. I install 700 latex tubes in my race wheels this way.