Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

Newbie in Crystal City!
CREATED: 07/29/10 by leriley REPLIES: 11
leriley's ravatar leriley    JOINED: 7/29/10    POSTS: 5
Newbie in Crystal City!
POSTED: 7/29/10 11:10 AM

Hi! I am new to triathlon training and looking forward to making new friends in the process. I was a diver on a D1 team in college, so I am no stranger to hard workouts and training. I run quite a bit and bike often, but swimming is my downfall. (Divers are not taught how to swim...we doggie paddle to the ladder after we dive in :) )

I also bake some awesome cookies!

looking forward to meeting everyone,

Lauren

dsgrunning's ravatar dsgrunning    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 1287
RE: Newbie in Crystal City!
POSTED: 7/29/10 11:34 AM

I'm not sure what D-1 dive school you went to but I already like their dive program. Who knew that I could have been a front of the pack swimmer in a dive program? :)

Every time that I hear a woman say "I am no stranger to hard workouts and training", there are voices in my head that says "this chick has her sight on an Ironman."

My advice to you is sign up for one now ... think about it later. The Ironman seminar is August 12. Resistance is futile.

Tuan

POSTED: 7/29/10 11:45 AM

I went to American University.

and this chick has her eye on a 1/2 Ironman...after I successfully complete a few sprints and Olympic distances. Hell, I need to learn how to swim for more than 20 minutes first. :)

rcmagnus's ravatar rcmagnus    JOINED: 1/23/10    POSTS: 43
POSTED: 7/29/10 1:02 PM

hi!

I'm in crystal city too...and just did my first tri in june through dc tri's new triathlete program. I swim at the crystal city la fitness that just opened and is pretty cheap (okay pool)...as well as wilson when I'm up in that area. I bike and run on the mt. vernon trail, hains point, and join group rides whenever I have some time.

Rachel
rcmagnus@gmail.com