Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

Swimmer's shoulder?
CREATED: 05/11/09 by mosered REPLIES: 9
mosered's ravatar mosered    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 1770
Swimmer's shoulder?
POSTED: 5/11/09 10:19 AM

Anyone have experience with this? Tingling ache from the neck down through the shoulder to the elbow, especially the triceps. Also some lower back and anterior calf ache. Touched off by long swims. Aggravated by long rides, presumably from holding/leaning onto the handlebars. Figure rest, stretching is called for. Advice?

morunner66's ravatar morunner66    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 702
RE: Swimmer's shoulder?
POSTED: 5/11/09 11:06 AM

Check for a chiro that does ART (Active Release Technique) in your area. www.activerelease.com. I've been doing ART since 2007 after MCM induced plantar fasciitis then associated leg injuries. ART is the only thing that got my running shoes back on my feet. ART is a combination of skeletal adjustment and deep muscle release. Don't be afraid of a little chiro treatment, it took me way to long to become a convert.

ncrcoach's ravatar ncrcoach    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 1059
POSTED: 5/11/09 11:50 AM

For the past two months, I've had a similar shoulder problem. Mostly I have been icing it and taking tylenol twice a day. The other day I did some extensive stretching and it seemed to help. My muscles may be tight and fortunately it doesn't bother me on the bike. With less than six weeks to my IM, there's no way I'm cutting off any swimming, just the workload. Good luck!

karlaj's ravatar karlaj    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 201
POSTED: 5/11/09 1:28 PM

I too have had some shoulder soreness, though mine is localized to the back of the arm socket - so advice might be tempered by that. My doctor actually advised against stretching if there's pain - if it's a strain/sprain, you're aggravating the problem. Rest and ice were the best things.