DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

Open Water Swim Training
CREATED: 03/25/09 by klshannon REPLIES: 5
klshannon    JOINED: 3/25/09    POSTS: 3
Open Water Swim Training
POSTED: 3/25/09 4:55 PM

Hi Folks:

I need to get in some open water swim time before the Columbia Triathon, May 17th. As I'm new to open water swimming, I need to get in several sessons before the race. I was hoping to begin the second or third week in April, but I haven't any idea where to go. Suggestions on where to swim in the area would be much appreciated, and if any of you wish to join me email me at klshannon@gmail.com

Many thanks!

wombat's ravatar wombat    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 266
RE: Open Water Swim Training
POSTED: 3/25/09 6:21 PM

The public part of Lake Anna opens for swimming on Memorial Day, but that's too late for you. Swimming is allowed year-round on the private side, assuming you have a friend with a place on the lake (I don't). Last year Team Z had a couple OWS clinics at Lake Arrowhead in Luray, VA. But I don't recommend it because I find the "lake" to be a glorified pond and it's flat as glass - no waves or currents to practice on. Reston Masters also has an OWS, but it's the week after your race.

I too need to get in a few OWS and would be interested in going with you. Email me if you find a place.

tammy_l_farmer@hotmail.com

dsgrunning's ravatar dsgrunning    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 1265
POSTED: 3/25/09 6:37 PM

Your choices are limited in the area. I did all of my OWS in Sandy Point last year. I know that a few other people from the club go there every now and then for the OWS practice swim. It's the same location as the Annapolis Tri (or was before they canceled it). It can be as calm as a lake sometimes and sometimes there are a little bit of waves and currents ... but nothing like the ocean.