DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

Need Recommendations for 2010 tris
CREATED: 10/12/09 by hppeabody REPLIES: 6
hppeabody's ravatar hppeabody    JOINED: 9/17/09    POSTS: 193
Need Recommendations for 2010 tris
POSTED: 10/12/09 9:50 AM

Hi all,

I am a newbie that is trying to figure out at least a few races to schedule in for tri season next year so I can have something specific to work toward. As a runner, this part comes easily to me. I am doing the swim clinic right now with Curl Burke and am biking a lot on my own and am hoping to be pretty strong in these areas as well come the start of tri season next year. I did my first sprint a few weeks ago (BRATS tri in Bristow 300m swim, 10 mi bike, 2.5 mi run) and did a biathlon (500 yd swim, 4 mi run) this past weekend. The short distance was really manageable and fun. I am looking for suggestions for some other really fun sprints to start me out next year, as well as Olympic distances, and finally, a half iron for the end of the season next year. So far I am thinking I definitely want to do the Angels race in the VA tri series (I went to college in Lynchburg, sounds like a good excuse for a reunion!) and Nations in Sept, because, well, its here.

Please let me know what suggestions you all might have for a beginner like me, in particular for races within relative driving distance from here or others .

Thanks,
Hillary

Aheitman's ravatar Aheitman    JOINED: 9/16/09    POSTS: 22
RE: Need Recommendations for 2010 tris
POSTED: 10/12/09 2:21 PM

I too am looking for a few good suggestions locally and otherwise.

Im particularly curious about ones in the Charlottesville area.

suzkinsky's ravatar suzkinsky    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 121
POSTED: 10/12/09 2:54 PM