Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

Clothing for Triathlon
CREATED: 04/29/10 by bonniecoggins REPLIES: 7
bonniecoggins    JOINED: 2/2/10    POSTS: 2
Clothing for Triathlon
POSTED: 4/29/10 1:42 PM

I'm new to triathlons, and I'm wondering what to wear for one! Do you change after the swim? Add shorts for the bike ride? Any advice would be great! I'm female, if it makes a difference.

nomisdc's ravatar nomisdc    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 615
RE: Clothing for Triathlon
POSTED: 4/29/10 2:12 PM

No right or wrong answer, but there are typical outfits. For Oly or Sprint distance, most vets use triathlon outifts. These are either 2 piece top and bottom or 1 piece singlet. You wear it under your wetsuit, on the bike, and on the run. No change = time saver. And you wear it after the race socializing in lycra all day. You can see examples on probably any tri store online website.
For 70.3 and Ironman distances, there are different schools of thought. We had a debate about it here once:
http://www.dctriclub.org/forum/messages.cfm?tid=A248D623-A305-4558-BFBC7AE93A9ECA68
Good luck

vatriathlete    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 682
POSTED: 4/29/10 2:14 PM

triathlon shorts = can be worn through all 3 sports eliminating the need to ever change during a race, has a smaller thinner bicycle pad in them so that they are easier to run and swim in.

top = triathlon racing tank top = again can be worn through all 3 events thus you never have to change clothing.

the females will have to chime in to state which brands and such do and do not have athletic support built into the tops.

check out this company's website to see what "triathlon shorts and tank tops" look like. they are known for making quality gear.

desotosport.com

goodluck

dsgrunning's ravatar dsgrunning    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 1296
POSTED: 4/29/10 2:14 PM