Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

"gentlemen, we can rebuild him… better… faster… stronger…" (new to tris/ post recovery)
CREATED: 09/25/10 by jdchristopher REPLIES: 6
jdchristopher's ravatar jdchristopher    JOINED: 9/22/10    POSTS: 23
"gentlemen, we can rebuild him… better… faster… stronger…" (new to tris/ post recovery)
POSTED: 9/25/10 6:31 PM

first off, writing an intro paragraph about myself for a 2"x4" piece of real estate on the internet reminds me of the awkwardness of high school yearbooks. you gotta be brief, to the point, yet informative and hopefully a little witty. this intro will probably be none of those, but at least i know what it should be...

anywhoo, i'm a complete newbie and am looking to gain some valuable mentoring and experience from this club. i realize it's all about give and take, and i believe i have enough knowledge to be useful to some people in this club, but good luck on trying to figure out who those people would be...!

background:
i've been a competitive swimmer since i was in grade school. i was a varsity athlete and hoped to do something with my talent one day. that day may still come, but i took a bit of a detour. you see, a few years back i was in a car accident. i won't go into the drama of the whole thing, but we'll just say i had a few months of playing "dr. house"-- complete with pain killers and groovy walking cane. after quite a bit of physical therapy, i decided to get active again. it was really just to say "screw you" to the doctors who said i'd never swim or run competitively again. nothing motivates me more than being told i can't do something. p90x, insanity, crossfit.. i've been through a gambit of routines to get back into my pre-accident shape. i'm almost there. and i think training for triathlons will be the final push i need...