Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

Pacing the Bike Leg
CREATED: 07/22/13 by TDPrange REPLIES: 3
TDPrange's ravatar TDPrange    JOINED: 1/14/13    POSTS: 73
Pacing the Bike Leg
POSTED: 7/22/13 2:28 PM

Any pointers on how to pace one's self on the bike leg of a Tri? I am new to the sport and came from a running background and thought that the running leg would be my best leg. Well, so far the bike is with out a doubt developed in my strongest leg. The downside is that in the last couple of Oly length Tri's I have bonked real hard on the front end of the run segments. While I suspect someof that has to do with fueling/hydrating during the race I am also sure that I might be pushing to hard on the bike.

Since I am still new to this I was hoping that some of the club folks might have some pointers on knowing how to when you are going fast enough on the bike to still have enough left for the run. Any pointers that can help keep the run from turning into my version of the Bataan Death March would be most helpful.

jxjia's ravatar jxjia    JOINED: 8/13/12    POSTS: 112
RE: Pacing the Bike Leg
POSTED: 7/22/13 3:50 PM

Pacing on the bike is somewhat personal in my opinion. Though one thing you should do (if you haven't) is a FTP (Functional Threshold Power/Peformance) test. You can then gauge your efforts based on the results.

http://www.thesufferfest.com/video-sufferfests/rubberglove/

http://home.trainingpeaks.com/athlete-edition/training-stress-scores/calculating-threshold.aspx

Now I'm not a fast triathlete so you may want to take what I say with a grain of salt.

Good luck,
-Johnson

kev7's ravatar kev7    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 462
POSTED: 7/22/13 6:42 PM