Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

First time triathlon!
CREATED: 01/03/11 by PSUDeb REPLIES: 8
PSUDeb's ravatar PSUDeb    JOINED: 12/31/10    POSTS: 14
First time triathlon!
POSTED: 1/03/11 12:18 PM

Just wanted to introduce myself...I recently signed up for my first tri and I am so excited! Now I just need to remember how to swim and I'll be all set to go! :)

I've been a runner for as long as I can remember, then picked up rowing in college and continued with that for the last 10 years, and now I'm ready to try something new! I'm brand new to biking, and have already fallen about half a dozen time with those clipless pedals, fortunately only one of those times were there any witnesses! I used to swim back in high school, and I have to admit I didn't think it would be nearly as hard to get back into as it has been! Needless to say I have my work cut out for me!

Anyways, if there is anyone in the old town area who would be interested in meeting up for some runs or rides let me know!

bad ford's ravatar bad ford    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 184
RE: First time triathlon!
POSTED: 1/03/11 12:30 PM

First- Welcome aboard.

Second - I highly recommend the New Triathlete Program (NTP). You can find it on the main page. They answered a boat load of questions for me when I was an NTPer a couple of years ago. Also, a great opportunity to meet club members, if you want.

Third, if you knew how to swim in high school, you are already ahead of most of us.

POSTED: 1/03/11 12:39 PM

Thanks! I was actually planning on signing up for NTP. I can use all the help I can get! Plus I'd love to meet some fellow newbies in the area!

siehndel's ravatar siehndel    JOINED: 11/25/05    POSTS: 1061
POSTED: 1/03/11 12:54 PM

Welcome!