Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

New Jersey Jitters
CREATED: 07/06/09 by ppgodes REPLIES: 10
ppgodes's ravatar ppgodes    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 83
New Jersey Jitters
POSTED: 7/06/09 4:09 PM

O.K....I signed up for way too many races this year (eight...two of those are Olympic, the rest are Sprints)...hey, I'm fairly new at this, and it really didn't seem like too many when I signed up for them all in January.

I've completed 4 of the 8, and the next one is New Jersey.

It will be my first Olympic, and quite frankly, I'm a little nervous. I have Culpeper the following week (I know, dumn), so I'm concerned about recovery, and also, just the ability to do the swim at New Jersey.

The deadline has passed for refund or transfer, so I either need to suck up the loss, or just do it.

I'm trekking up there by myself, so another reason I'm thinking of just canning the whole thing.

So I guess I'm putting out an e-mail to see if someone is willing to be my friend that weekend...I know alot of the new tri peeps are doing this one, so I'm assuming we're going to have a strong DC contingent there.

Also, any reports on the swim from previous participants? I hear it will probably be too warm for a wetsuit, which is my little security blanket.

I just don't want to drive all the way up there and be alone if I die during the swim.

Thanks a bunch,

Paula

matr's ravatar matr    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 44
RE: New Jersey Jitters
POSTED: 7/06/09 5:11 PM

Remember, if you are worried about the swim, you can always hang onto a kayak or paddleboard as long as you don't use it to make forward progress. You will be fine.