Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

what are "other strokes"?
CREATED: 08/11/10 by sbarron01 REPLIES: 5
sbarron01    JOINED: 7/26/10    POSTS: 5
what are "other strokes"?
POSTED: 8/11/10 12:44 PM

I'm a beginner swimmer, using the 0 -> 1650 swim plan and, taking a look at some other swim links, I see that when you're done with the 1650 to practice using "other strokes" as you train. Can you recommend a link or a complementary stroke to use w/freestyle that will help me improve my freestyle swimming? I'm doing the Naylor's Beach sprint next month then no events until next July (I can dream about doing a half-Ironman at that time, can't I?!). Thanks.

JGunder's ravatar JGunder    JOINED: 8/31/09    POSTS: 15
RE: what are "other strokes"?
POSTED: 8/11/10 1:44 PM

Butterfly, backstroke and breaststroke are the standard 'other strokes' - although you arguably could add sidestroke or elementary backstroke.
While you aren't going to want to swim these strokes in your race, practicing them will help you with your body position and coordination in the water, provide some injury prevention (prevent repetitive motion injuries), and make workouts a lot less boring. Additionally, these strokes can come in handy - - instead of lifting your head to sight on freestyle, you could do a stroke or two of breaststroke... Or if your goggles fill with water you can do a little backstroke while you fix the problem.
If you are just looking to learn one at this point (and you want one that will help with freestyle), I would suggest working on backstroke. Both freestyle and backstroke are long-axis strokes, and working on backstroke will help with your freestyle rotation.

karlaj's ravatar karlaj    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 201
POSTED: 8/11/10 1:50 PM