Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

My lung cancer surviving brother talked me into doing IM CDA June 2011....
CREATED: 08/11/10 by mullenb4 REPLIES: 7
mullenb4    JOINED: 8/11/10    POSTS: 3
My lung cancer surviving brother talked me into doing IM CDA June 2011....
POSTED: 8/11/10 2:46 PM

Greetings DC Tri Family!

I'm scared and crazy.

My older brother is doing his 2nd IM. He's ten years older than me and a lung cancer survivor, so I decided to join him. IM CDA. June 26th, 2011.

I need a lot of help.

I have 10 months to train.

I have run 5 marathons, I'm a decent swimmer, but I do not have a bike. I have been doing Crossfit for the last 13 months. I stopped Crossfit in at the end of July to train for this IM.

I really have no clue where to start.

Any suggestions?

ecrandlemire's ravatar ecrandlemire    JOINED: 4/13/10    POSTS: 63
RE: My lung cancer surviving brother talked me into doing IM CDA June 2011....
POSTED: 8/11/10 3:01 PM

You are in luck...tomorrow night there is a IM seminar being put on by the club and there is also a structured IM training program run by the club. Info on the seminar is on the first page of the website and the training program under the "Train" tab to the left.

POSTED: 8/11/10 3:07 PM

Great, thanks. Will be there.

Cheers,
Brendan

ncrcoach's ravatar ncrcoach    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 1044
POSTED: 8/11/10 3:31 PM

Brendan, I've done CDA this past two years so let's try to catch up tomorrow night after the seminar. Dirk, Phil, and Kelzie who are on tomorrow's panel also raced it this year. Glad to meet ya. -Hugh

emle's ravatar emle    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 127
POSTED: 8/11/10 4:22 PM