Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

Virgin triathlete looking for a bike
CREATED: 07/10/09 by kittykat REPLIES: 7
kittykat's ravatar kittykat    JOINED: 7/8/09    POSTS: 3
Virgin triathlete looking for a bike
POSTED: 7/10/09 9:03 AM

Since I'm just getting started and am on a limited budget, I'm not currently in the market for the $1500 price tag most bike shops are expecting me to spend... are there any reliable used bike sources in the area? I know there are some concerns about something like this being abused w/ stolen bikes... I'm 5'7", so have been told I need probably a 52 or 54. I'd appreciate any ideas you might have.

Thanks,

>^..^<

dsgrunning's ravatar dsgrunning    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 1312
RE: Virgin triathlete looking for a bike
POSTED: 7/10/09 9:19 AM

What is your budget ? How long are you willing to wait ? A lot of bike shops in the area clean out their inventories in the late summer so a cheap one can be had if you have patience.

You can get a brand new entry road bike in the $600-800 range. Check out Perfromance bike or Hudson Trail Outfitter (HTO).

There is a HTO outlet in Gaithersburg, MD that sell their bikes a lot cheaper than all of their other regular stores. I got a $1500 brand new Felt S32 tri bike there for $900 last year but it was only for that store. It also comes with free basic bike tunning and frame cleaning for the life of your bike. The tunning and cleaning can be done at any HTO store no matter which one you happen to purchase your bike at.

You may also try the "for sale" section of this web site. People come on here and sell their old bikes when they purchase another one or decide to get out of the cycling business.

mosered's ravatar mosered    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 1770
POSTED: 7/10/09 9:26 AM

That's right. I got a carbon bike at Performance for a steep discount last July.

Spokes also usually has entry level bikes in the price range mentioned.