DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

Riding clipless
CREATED: 04/03/09 by amiehwoods REPLIES: 10
amiehwoods's ravatar amiehwoods    JOINED: 3/2/09    POSTS: 19
Riding clipless
POSTED: 4/03/09 7:38 AM

Hey all,
Anyone else out there new to riding clipless? I've taken a few diggers and am none the worse for wear, but wondering if there are any clinics planned for this or anyone looking to practice and, uh, maybe fall a few times. :-)

- Amie

bcfrank's ravatar bcfrank    JOINED: 3/23/09    POSTS: 946
RE: Riding clipless
POSTED: 4/03/09 8:07 AM

I'm just learning to ride clipless (I did my first tri last year using toe cages on the pedals), and while it won't prevent falling, one thing I've been doing is just riding with one foot clipped in and a regular tennis shoe on the other. That's helped me get used to riding clipped in, but gives me the free foot to catch myself. And each time I go out, I switch up which foot is clipped in.

Just beware when you have your dominant foot clipped in. Like I mentioned, it's not fall-proof. :)

POSTED: 4/03/09 8:50 AM

Wow...that's a really interesting idea. I never thought of that. Can you still pedal relatively easily with the sneaker on the clip? I guess it's a bit clumsy but works?

siehndel's ravatar siehndel    JOINED: 11/25/05    POSTS: 1060
POSTED: 4/03/09 9:26 AM

Unfortunately, sometimes taking a couple of falls is just the way it goes when learning clipless pedals. There are a couple of tricks and Bryan's idea was great.

What I did when I switched over was ride around the block several times (make sure there's not a lot of traffic). As I was riding, I just clipped my right foot out 10 times and then my left foot 10 times. Then I alternated feet. Do this all while riding (Think 10-15 mph) and not stopping. It's much easier to practice first while you're moving forward and letting physics help keep you up on your bike.