DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

Cycling shoes?
CREATED: 02/04/13 by tkopan REPLIES: 15
tkopan's ravatar tkopan    JOINED: 4/7/12    POSTS: 46
Cycling shoes?
POSTED: 2/04/13 11:18 AM

Hey there --
I've been triathlon-ing since last spring, but have been using my running shoes for bikes/spins...I think it's time to make the switch to a more cycling-friendly shoe.
I'm not ready for clip-ins, but do people have any advice about very basic, preferably cheap/affordable cycling options?
What makes a good cycling shoe? I have no knowledge on the subject.
Thanks!

karlaj's ravatar karlaj    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 201
RE: Cycling shoes?
POSTED: 2/04/13 12:02 PM

There really aren't too many cycling shoes that don't have clip-in attachment points. Maybe consider a MTB shoe has the clip-in part recessed. You can usually get a deal for $50 on something like that. Google SPD mountain bike shoe for some options. You don't have to use the clip in part, but eventually you will...But it also depends on the type of riding you do. If it's trails, then MTN is really the way to go. If it's road, then you'll probably find road shoes (w/ clips) to be preferable.

Typically, a bike shoe should have a stiffer sole than a normal shoe, so it won't flex as much while pedalling. MTN bike shoes still flex much more than road cycling shoes b/c you have to sometimes walk in them.

Just curious, why not consider clip ins? They're easy to use and make cycling very nice.
-Jason

POSTED: 2/04/13 5:48 PM

I don't know...clip-ins just scare me a little bit. It's a level of intensity I'm not quite ready for -- yet. I'm sure in a year or two, I'll be more ready to give it a try, I just don't know if I want to take the plunge quite yet.
Thanks for the feedback, though.

dsgrunning's ravatar dsgrunning    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 1331
POSTED: 2/04/13 6:11 PM

Come on, man up and just do it ;)