Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

hello from a complete newbie...
CREATED: 03/21/10 by Monacan REPLIES: 10
Monacan    JOINED: 3/21/10    POSTS: 2
hello from a complete newbie...
POSTED: 3/21/10 6:54 PM

I just wanted to say hi and introduce myself. After thinking about it for years, I've decided to finally train for a tri and do a sprint in June and I think an olympic distance in September. I'm still figuring out how I should go about training (which is why I joined--any advice is most welcome!).
Looking forward to meeting folks and learning!
-Monica

mosered's ravatar mosered    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 1713
RE: hello from a complete newbie...
POSTED: 3/21/10 10:34 PM

Here's one nutshell: Join a master's swim team and take a swim class like the ones at AU; get a wetsuit. Get a bike based on your goals and budget; look for group rides on the Forum. Join a runners group, and look for the club's group runs and track workouts; practice the transition from bike to run with shorts runs after your rides. Keep doing races in your strength, like the half marathons many did this weekend. Get a heart rate monitor if you're so inclined. Watch for special club events like clinics and open water swims. This web site has a ton of info on all aspects, and has an archive feature stretching back years. Sign up for the club's sprint training tris. Attend the club happy hours to meet people of your ability and to solicit advice.

merlinkim's ravatar merlinkim    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 294
POSTED: 3/21/10 11:46 PM

Edit to Ed's post above - rent a wetsuit instead of buying. Conte's (Ballston & Bethesda) rent wetsuits (as well as Bonzai (Dun Loring-ish), I think), and you can rent from on-line outfits too. One less thing for the shopping list, but try one on and reserve the appropriate size suit for your race as early as you can.