Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

May 15 Du Training / Bike Question
CREATED: 05/11/10 by zoom2zoom REPLIES: 9
zoom2zoom's ravatar zoom2zoom    JOINED: 5/5/10    POSTS: 72
May 15 Du Training / Bike Question
POSTED: 5/11/10 8:11 AM

I am new to this sport – with my only race at the National Duathlon in Richmond, I was riding my road bike (BH Speedrom) at the time and I noticed that most riders where riding TT bike, thus, I recently purchased a Cervelo P3SL and just arrived last night and still have not had the chance to test out the bike.

i will probably able to do a few miles this week to test ride.

I signed up for the duathlon training this weekend May 15, and I am not sure which bike I should use? May I ask if this ‘training’ session is very competitive or can I use this event as a way to test out my bike?

How many participant will be at this event? And what is all of your avg total time?

pgfde121's ravatar pgfde121    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 236
RE: May 15 Du Training / Bike Question
POSTED: 5/11/10 8:57 AM

You'll be significantly faster on the TT bike, especially since you just releaved your wallet of $3500 (assuming cash vs credit). Each bill (regardless of value) weighs about 1 gram. Being as the highest value currency is circulation is currently the $100 bill, thats could be a minimum of 350 grams. Which is a bit more than the weight difference between Ultegra and Dura Ace. Now, if you combine the weight of the spent money, upgrading your components, throw in an aero helmet and some aero wheels (for more money/weight savings) and a good fit, and you can see the gains.