Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

MCM before ironman
CREATED: 04/08/09 by jpdavis REPLIES: 4
jpdavis's ravatar jpdavis    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 26
MCM before ironman
POSTED: 4/08/09 10:26 PM

I am doing ironman arzona in November, Is it crazy for me to do marine corps 3 weeks prior? I've never done an ironman distance before, so I am not sure what my taper will be?

nomisdc's ravatar nomisdc    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 616
RE: MCM before ironman
POSTED: 4/08/09 11:27 PM

Yes, that is crazy. Don't ruin your Ironman bid.

Tamara's ravatar Tamara    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 28
POSTED: 4/09/09 8:11 AM

Unless you are already part of the cadre of people who regularly runs marathons once a month, this would be a very bad idea. Even without the swimming and biking, doing 2 marathons three weeks apart would be brutal on your body.

You wouldn't be tapering for IMAZ in the weeks in between. Instead, you'd be recovering from MCM. Decreased mileage and decreased intensity do not by themselves mean a taper. Marathons beat up your body, and typically take weeks to fully recover back up to previous fitness/health. Do that AFTER the ironman.

Do-able? probably. Advisable? absolutely not.

nomisdc's ravatar nomisdc    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 616
POSTED: 4/09/09 9:03 AM