Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

Nations Tri -- Wetsuit Advice?
CREATED: 09/08/12 by HappyRunner REPLIES: 4
HappyRunner's ravatar HappyRunner    JOINED: 1/15/11    POSTS: 177
Nations Tri -- Wetsuit Advice?
POSTED: 9/08/12 3:09 PM

So it appears Nations will be wetsuit permissible but not wetsuit legal. I'm not looking for a podium finish and love the assistance a wetsuite gives to my swim. I don't overheat so that's not an issue.

As a newbie, I am not sure what the norms are on this. Is wearing a wet suit in a "non-legal but permissible" race considered getting an unfair advantage? Is it perfectly acceptable?

Bottom line, while I won't be on the podium, I want to race my fellow age-groupers fair and square.

dsgrunning's ravatar dsgrunning    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 1269
RE: Nations Tri -- Wetsuit Advice?
POSTED: 9/08/12 3:26 PM

If they allow it, by definition, it's acceptable. You are not bypassing any rules. The one thing to keep in mind though, at least in prior years, is that people who wear wetsuits will be placed in the last wave. It's a coed wave of all wetsuit swimmers. For some, that's not a good thing since there are a lot of waves out there.

The year that it was permissible (I'm not sure if it was Nations or DC Triathlon, but they were run by the same folks), there was a sizable group that went that route ... at least from my volunteering/spectator point of view.

I'm not sure what Nations' policy is. In some races where there it was "permissible", you get your splits but they don't give you a rank within your age group. Or they give you everything, but place as "*" next to your name to signify that you swam with a wetsuit.

Tuan

HappyRunner's ravatar HappyRunner    JOINED: 1/15/11    POSTS: 177
POSTED: 9/08/12 3:33 PM

I'm actually at the expo right now and just happened to be passing by the briefing when I heard the race director start to talk about this, so I popped in.