Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

Open water swim locations?
CREATED: 04/12/12 by npleisch REPLIES: 8
npleisch    JOINED: 4/5/12    POSTS: 134
Open water swim locations?
POSTED: 4/12/12 12:05 PM

Hey all. My name is Nik and I'm new to the tri club and to the area. My wife and I did IM Wisconsin last year for our first IM and we are looking for good open water swim locations. We live in Kingstowne/Alexandria. Any suggestions on where the best/closest locations for open water swimming are going to be for us? Thank you!

spleary's ravatar spleary    JOINED: 8/17/10    POSTS: 73
RE: Open water swim locations?
POSTED: 4/12/12 12:28 PM

Welcome to DC! I think you'll find a great Tri community around these parts. What you may not find as much of is open water swimming. Lake Anna and Sandy Point are probably your two best bets. Heres a post by DC Rainmaker with a bit more info:

http://www.dcrainmaker.com/p/washington-dc-resources.html

-Scott

dsgrunning's ravatar dsgrunning    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 1331
POSTED: 4/12/12 12:42 PM

I second with what Scott said. For a body of water that is open to the general public during the season, Sandy Point in Annapolis is probably the only viable place for you to go. The only other place open to the public place is Lake Anna, Va, which is about 80+ miles from Alexandria. There is also a place in Baltimore, but Sandy Point is closer.

There are other options such as the OWS swims that WaveOne puts on every week in the summer at the National Harbor. You will have to pay for that. Parking can be expensive, unless you want to bike to it. It's $20-ish per swim, unless you buy a season pass or a smaller package. Many people in DCTri did this last year and seem to enjoy it since it's supported with kayakers and buoys.