Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

24-hour Rev3 Epic Adventure Report
CREATED: 04/27/12 by siehndel REPLIES: 7
siehndel's ravatar siehndel    JOINED: 11/25/05    POSTS: 1064
24-hour Rev3 Epic Adventure Report
POSTED: 4/27/12 10:17 AM

Early in the fall I did an adventure race out near the Gauley River in WV and had an absolute blast. The race I did was put on by the Navy's MWR - their recreation program - and involved paddling, trail running and mountain biking. It was a ton of fun and I started looking for other adventure races and happened upon the Rev3 Epic Adventure race. The race was described as a 24-hour event involving paddling, trekking/running, mountain biking and navigating/orienteering. I have no experience in orienteering and knew this was going to be an issue to overcome. I signed up as a two-man team with my great friend Jesse that I've known since grad school.

My training in navigation involved signing up for one 5k event put on by the Quantico Orienteering Club. I mention this because you should check this group out if you are looking for a fun way to get out into the local parks. They plot out courses of all levels, provide maps and compasses and have volunteers on hand to get you started. It's good cheap fun and, frankly, a heck of a workout. You end up bushwhacking through the parks trying to determine your fastest course from point to point. Phil Schmidt (Phil also raced the Rev3 event with Bart Forsyth), Jesse and I formed a team and Trisha Bergmann and Jenn Dunn also formed a team (They raced the Rev3 sprint event on Sunday and had a great time). I learned, at the very least, that while we may not be experts with the map and compass, we would be able to survive in the wild. Mostly.