Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

Need trail shoe and store advice
CREATED: 11/11/11 by jonwolfsthal REPLIES: 4
jonwolfsthal's ravatar jonwolfsthal    JOINED: 3/22/09    POSTS: 43
Need trail shoe and store advice
POSTED: 11/11/11 5:27 PM

I have been wearing the same brand/make of show for about 5 years. I recently dropped a bunch of weight and would like to have a new evaluation of what I need, and also to get a pair of trail shoes. I used to go to fleet fleet, but know some of the shops do gait analysis etc. Any good recommendations in the NW DC area?
Thanks.

zenetanar's ravatar zenetanar    JOINED: 5/13/10    POSTS: 35
RE: Need trail shoe and store advice
POSTED: 11/12/11 4:15 PM

I got my trail shoes for a really good price at REI. They are Montratail. Just out of curiousity have you gone to a podiatrist? I had a really off gait and when I went to PR for the gait analysis I was told I needed motion control shoes. During a marathon I broke my foot, and went to a podiatrist who suggested I get custom orthotics which were covered at 90% by my insurance. I haven't had a single running injury since and when I went in after 8 weeks of no running (which by the way is how I got into triathlons -- I had to do SOMETHING during those two months, right?) I ran at PR with the orthotics and they said I could basically wear any neutral shoe -- the orthotics had fixed my gait. My husband just went in and they prescribed him orthotics too -- I personally think anyone who doesn't have a perfect neutral running stride might want to check in with a pod and see if they might be a possibility. I go to Smith and Klein on Old Courthouse Rd in Tysons Corner and they are fantastic.

tgalbert's ravatar tgalbert    JOINED: 9/30/10    POSTS: 401
POSTED: 11/12/11 8:19 PM