DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

Beach 2 Battleship 140.6 Race Report
CREATED: 10/28/12 by molnarc2 REPLIES:
molnarc2's ravatar molnarc2    JOINED: 9/8/12    POSTS: 28
Beach 2 Battleship 140.6 Race Report
POSTED: 10/28/12 6:25 PM

Beach 2 Battleship 140.6

I suppose I should start by saying that up until 3 or 4 months before the event, I had no intention of competing at Beach 2 Battleship. I had originally planned to race IM National Harbor 70.3 in August, and have that as my final long race of the year. Beach 2 Battleship was only my 4th ever triathlon, as this is my first year in multisport, and I've been calling myself a "triathlete" for approximately 9 months or so now.

When IM National Harbor was cancelled, I kicked around the idea of racing IM Augusta 70.3 or Poconos; I also considered getting into IM Louisville but felt that 6 to 8 weeks probably wasn't enough time to get myself ready. After a glass or two of wine, and a couple glasses of Scotch later, I found myself checking my calendar for the month of October for conflicts and entering my credit card number into the race registration page. I guess I was committed to the race. Now it was time to change my training plan from a 70.3 focus to a full 140.6.

Race Week Pre-Race

The days leading up until it was time to drive down to Wilmington, N.C. were rather uneventful. I did an easy swim on Monday and Tuesday mornings, as well as an easy three mile run Monday afternoon and a an easy 45 minute ride on the trainer Tuesday afternoon. Wednesday was spent packing my race gear and making sure I had everything together. Wednesday also required a trip over to Fresh Bikes in Bethesda to pick up a set of Zipp 808s that I had reserved for the race.