DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

New Year's Day 5K RR - Reston
CREATED: 01/03/12 by smitty1788 REPLIES:
smitty1788    JOINED: 12/19/11    POSTS: 10
New Year's Day 5K RR - Reston
POSTED: 1/03/12 12:52 PM

Hi everyone!

New to the club and wanted to share my race report for the New Year's Day 5K in Reston. I was out representing the club and got a new PR.

New Year’s Day 5K Race Report: Reston, VA

Short Version:
Finished in 20:39 for 38/700 overall. This was an out and back course that was moderately hilly. I went out to fast and felt in near the end with all the hills. Overall, it was a success and a new PR.

Long Version:
First some background. I first started running this past June and had no prior experience besides running in practice for baseball in HS. At 23, decided I needed to make a change and get back in shape. I have been running about 20mi/w for the last 2 months. This was my 3rd 5K (a couple 10K’s and mile races thrown in) and my previous PR was 22:30 in early November. My goal today was under 21:30

I had a fairly quiet New Year’s Eve. A few friends came over to watch the ball drop. I didn’t get to bed until late and had a hard time falling asleep sue to the excitement. Luckily the race was a 10am start to I was able to get a few more hours of sleep then I normally would for a race. I woke up at 7:30am, threw on my running gear, and headed out to Reston (live in DC). I got to the race pretty early and not many people were there yet. I picked up my Bib and then decided to sit in the car for a few minutes as it was chilly out. At about 9:15 I decided I couldn’t wait anymore and started to warm up. I did a very slow jog for about 20 minutes and then some strides near the finish line. At 9:45 I lined up near the front and was getting antsy as I really wanted to start.