Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

cycling shoes
CREATED: 11/07/12 by Col333 REPLIES: 5
Col333's ravatar Col333    JOINED: 7/21/12    POSTS: 12
cycling shoes
POSTED: 11/07/12 6:16 PM

I am in the market for new clip in cycling shoes and wanted some recommendations on what to consider when buying cycling shoes for triathlons. I'm relatively new to triathlons, but would like to do a half IM this summer and thought I would get some advice on shoes prior to purchasing a pair. Also, any advice on a particular bike shop would be helpful as well. And finally, any thoughts on bike fittings? Is the purpose to make you more comfortable on your bike or faster, or both. Thanks!

dsgrunning's ravatar dsgrunning    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 1301
RE: cycling shoes
POSTED: 11/07/12 9:02 PM

While your running shoes should be a 1/2 to a full size larger than your feet, the same cannot be said of cycling shoes. The cycling shoes fit should be very snugly, with very little wiggle room. Your feet should have very little movement in the shoes.

Cycling socks are a lot thinner than running socks. If you choose to wear one, purchase one and bring it with you when you are looking at cycling shoes. There are savages within DCTri who cycles without socks. Don't be a savage. Wear socks :)

Be aware that a lot of cycling shoes use the European sizing system. You will not know what your size is until you go to the shop and try on different sizes. When I first started, I looked up charts for translations of what my cycling shoes should be vs my running shoes. It was off by a sizes. Cycling shoes will be more expensive than running shoes, but will last for a very very very long time. Don't let the price intimidate you. I've worn the same one for 5 years and at least 30,000 miles under sun, rain, snow, and every weather conditions you can think of.