Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

Rule for number on the bike
CREATED: 06/03/09 by jpdavis REPLIES: 6
jpdavis's ravatar jpdavis    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 26
Rule for number on the bike
POSTED: 6/03/09 6:49 PM

OK I have been doing tri's since I was 18 (20+ years) and have never heard of this rule (posted for the Eageman tri... see below) I have seen people do it and always assumed they just wanted to be ready for the run.... Is this a new rule?

Be sure to note the USAT rule that during the bike portion of the race, every athlete MUST wear the race bib number (the same one that will be worn on the run portion) so that it faces toward the back. A race belt is probably the best / easiest method of accomplishing this since the same number must be worn on your front during the run. For the swim, you will be body marked with your race number. For the bike, you will have a bib number on your back, helmet number, and a bike frame number. For the run, you will have a bib number on the front.

mhuizenga's ravatar mhuizenga    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 22
RE: Rule for number on the bike
POSTED: 6/03/09 6:57 PM

So I downloaded the rules from USAT: http://assets.teamusa.org/assets/documents/attached_file/filename/9319/2009_USAT_Competitive_Rules.pdf

I found this mention of race numbers:

"3.4.f. Race Numbers. Participants shall plainly display their race numbers at all times, and shall maintain the race
number in an unaltered, unobstructed and readable state at the start and finish gates, in the transition areas, and
on the course. Any violation of this Section shall result in a variable time penalty."

It doesn't specifically state that the race number must be worn, just displayed, which it would be on your bike. However, I have heard that it is up to the race whether you have to wear your race number on your body during the race.

dsgrunning's ravatar dsgrunning    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 1332