Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

Nutrition/Hydration for the total 200?
CREATED: 06/21/12 by mjraugust REPLIES: 6
mjraugust's ravatar mjraugust    JOINED: 12/15/11    POSTS: 96
Nutrition/Hydration for the total 200?
POSTED: 6/21/12 4:08 PM

I am an NTPer and I am signed up for the total 200 (200k version). I am not worried about the distance (although perhaps I should be) but the recent heat and the recent nutrition clinic has me more than a little concerned about nutrition/hydration for that long of a ride. Normally I am a water only person but this is my first ride over 75mi and especially in this kind of heat. Any tips for what I should be looking for that's light to carry/easy to digest, how much I should bring and where to buy it? I am a car free DC resident and Target and all the grocery stores only sell pre-mixed gatorade and powerade. Also does carbo loading the night before actually do anything? Any advice/expertise would be greatly appreciated, thanks so much.

-Mark

jmmoore    JOINED: 4/27/12    POSTS: 12
RE: Nutrition/Hydration for the total 200?
POSTED: 6/21/12 4:40 PM

I have a Profile Design Aqua Cell that has two chambers... I fill the big one (27 oz) with Coconut Water and sugar and the small one (17 oz) with just water. I like to wash down with water after drinking a nutritional liquid.

You could mount the Aqua Cell on your handlebars [normally the Aqua Cell is mounted between aero bars, but there is also a bracket (Profile Design Aerodrink Basebar Bracket) that should allow you to mount off the front of drop bars or wide set aero bars]

The Aqua Cell (44oz), two 24 oz bottles on the frame, and two 24 oz bottles off the back of your seat would give you 140oz for the trip.

bcfrank's ravatar bcfrank    JOINED: 3/23/09    POSTS: 897
POSTED: 6/21/12 7:04 PM

Hey Mark,