DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

New to the Area - Alexandria
CREATED: 07/27/09 by PinkTriathlete REPLIES: 2
PinkTriathlete    JOINED: 7/27/09    POSTS: 1
New to the Area - Alexandria
POSTED: 7/27/09 8:57 AM

Hey All,

I just graduated from Elon University and moved to the area. Will definitely be joining the club to get back into the sport have a break of a few years. Only competed in sprints, but very interested in a half-iron. Hope you all can help whip me into shape!

Looking forward to meeting you all soon . . .

Meredith

P.S. Any good gym suggestions in the Alexandria area? (I work in Suitland, MD but it's not a great area to be working out).

jgeorge    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 2
RE: New to the Area - Alexandria
POSTED: 7/27/09 11:28 AM

Hi Meridith,
I just relocated from NC myself last January. I'm still learning the area but would be glad to share what I have found. I live in the Del Ray area, does that sound like it would be convienent?
-John

janice    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 17
RE: New to the Area - Alexandria
POSTED: 7/27/09 1:15 PM

Welcome to you both. You have a few options in the Alexandria area. Gold Gym on Glebe Rd, the Energy Club which is actually in Shirlington but not too far, the Washington Sports Club up on Quaker Lane/Rt 7, the YMCA which is over on Monroe Street (off of RT 1 South / Del Ray), Sport and Health in Old Town on Fairfax and Madison and there is a new place that opened up on King Street - Snap Fitness. It's a 24-hr kind of place that isn't staffed 24/7. I have not been to it but have been to all of the above mentioned and am a member of the Energy Club.