Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

Wakefield Ride for a new triathlete?
CREATED: 07/12/10 by zenetanar REPLIES: 3
zenetanar's ravatar zenetanar    JOINED: 5/13/10    POSTS: 35
Wakefield Ride for a new triathlete?
POSTED: 7/12/10 12:42 PM

I am brand new to cycling and triathlon in general -- I started cycling for the first time in my life in April, and I did the DC Tri as my first tri. I am trying to find a non-intimidating week night group ride. What is the Wakefield ride like -- and where exactly does it meet? Is it too advanced for a slowpoke like me? I couldn't find much information from the website regarding pacing etc.

Thanks!

hppeabody's ravatar hppeabody    JOINED: 9/17/09    POSTS: 193
RE: Wakefield Ride for a new triathlete?
POSTED: 7/12/10 1:35 PM

Not sure about that ride but in general the Potomac Pedalers have a lot of rides catered to slower riders I hear. I recently went to a 15 mile ride (i think its usually 12-15 miles) that convenes in Tenley town at 630pm on thursday nights right at the top of van ness st in the circle-- its a small group but not fast and a friend of mine goes regularly so I went with her. The leader gives out a cue sheet each week and its a really friendly group of leisurely cyclists.

zenetanar's ravatar zenetanar    JOINED: 5/13/10    POSTS: 35
POSTED: 7/12/10 1:38 PM

Thanks for the tip. I live in Vienna and have a child so I'm looking to not spend a lot of time in traffic, so if anyone knows of something in Northern VA I'd love to hear about it. I might try out Contes this Tuesday.

vatriathlete    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 682
POSTED: 7/12/10 3:18 PM

it may have changed, so someone else chime in, but the wakefield ride when i went was a lot of hardcore pure cyclists in it.