Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

Is a wet suit advised for Black Bear Triathlon 2014?
CREATED: 04/04/14 by jbjensen REPLIES: 12
jbjensen    JOINED: 11/19/13    POSTS: 2
Is a wet suit advised for Black Bear Triathlon 2014?
POSTED: 4/04/14 5:09 PM

The Black Bear website says that the water temperature typically ranges from 68 to 76 degrees.

I have never done a triathlon before and am wondering whether I should plan to wear a wet suit. (I would need to purchase one before the race.)

I would appreciate any advice -- pros and cons.

Thanks.

bcfrank's ravatar bcfrank    JOINED: 3/23/09    POSTS: 955
RE: Is a wet suit advised for Black Bear Triathlon 2014?
POSTED: 4/04/14 5:41 PM

I probably recommend having a wetsuit. This winter has been really cold with lots of snow so I expect the water temperature to be on the low side of the typical range.

You can always rent a wetsuit as well. The club has a wetsuit loaner program (though we have a very limited supply) and TriBonzai also rents wetsuits for $35 for the week.

Bryan

ncrcoach's ravatar ncrcoach    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 1051
POSTED: 4/04/14 9:35 PM

Bryan is correct. Although I prefer not to wear a wetsuit during shorter distance triathlons, I honestly believe that the water temps for Black Bear will be in the mid-60s. I am also doing the Olympic race at Black Bear and I am definitely wearing a wetsuit.

On a side note, the reason I don't like to wear a wetsuit is that I have trouble getting that darn thing off.

Hugh

asovonick's ravatar asovonick    JOINED: 6/3/09    POSTS: 203
POSTED: 4/05/14 3:20 PM

wear it, it'll make you float and therefore move faster.

i'm telling you.

-andy sovonick of gaithersburg

POSTED: 4/05/14 3:32 PM

Tell 'em Andy Sovonick Gaithersburg or should I say.... El Blanco Uno!

asovonick's ravatar asovonick    JOINED: 6/3/09    POSTS: 203
POSTED: 4/05/14 3:35 PM

el blanco uno is a great world's champion.