Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

What Beginner Bike Should I Get?
CREATED: 10/22/10 by jdruke REPLIES: 7
jdruke's ravatar jdruke    JOINED: 9/2/10    POSTS: 64
What Beginner Bike Should I Get?
POSTED: 10/22/10 4:49 PM

I'm a beginner triathlete looking for advice on what bike to buy (current bike: cruiser).

Races: Sprint and Olympic distances (half/full ironman a few years down the road)

Price range: $1,000 +/- 500

A friend recommended Cannondale CAAD9-6. What are your thoughts on this bike and what others would you recommend?

dsgrunning's ravatar dsgrunning    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 1331
RE: What Beginner Bike Should I Get?
POSTED: 10/22/10 10:02 PM

Get one that you feel most comfortable on. Fit is an individualized thing and it's probably one of the most important thing to consider when purchasing a bike. Do yourself a favor by going to a bunch of different bike shops in the area and try out as many bikes as you can. See which one fits you the best. After that, choose one that turns you on visually the most. A pretty bike will make you want to ride it more. That in turn will make you more passonate about the sport.

After you have narrowed it down to a few bikes, come on this forum and list the components that are on the bike. The folks here will tell whether you are getting a good deal for the bike or not.

There are a lot of great beginner bikes at the $1,000 price point. Don't be pigeon holed into a brand or brand name. Also remember to budget things like helmet, clipless pedals and shoes, locks, bike computer to measure speed/cadance, flat repair kits, clothes (bike shorts/jersey), locks, etc. Those things can add up to quite a few dollars. You will be in for a sticker shock if you don't budget those things. The only "must have" is a helmet but those other things will make your life more enjoyable.