DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

Road bike v.Tri Bike
CREATED: 06/05/13 by MikeTri REPLIES: 13
MikeTri    JOINED: 5/23/13    POSTS: 9
Road bike v.Tri Bike
POSTED: 6/05/13 3:05 PM

Hey all,
I'm new to the sport and after a couple Olympics last year just finished the Lake Anna HIM in May. I used my Cervelo road bike and looked more than a little odd with I think the only road bike there. If I wanted to step up to a full IM or stay at the HIM level is it really necessary to invest in a tri bike? My wife is very understanding but I'm going to need a some persuasive arguments to shell out a couple grand for a new tri bike.

Gracias for any comments. I'm just getting started and really enjoy just how nice people are in this sport.
Best,
Mike

chucifer    JOINED: 3/14/13    POSTS: 6
RE: Road bike v.Tri Bike
POSTED: 6/05/13 4:27 PM

I've seen this question a bunch of times and I guess the best answer I can give is that 'it depends'. Clearly, you can use a road bike for a full IM so really, the decision to pull the trigger on a tri/tt bike depends on a bunch of other variables.

I started on a road bike, too, and here are the factors that helped me pull the trigger:

-Position on a tri bike will save me energy during the bike leg due to increased aerodynamics, which will lead to more resources on the run.

-I'm committed to the sport for several more years so it's an investment that will get me a good amount of usage.

-I can set one bike on the trainer and use the other whenever I want to ride outdoors. Preventing the need to swap tires all the time.

-I already have an aero helmet (best aero bang for the buck)

-It looks sweet as hell.

gabroe's ravatar gabroe    JOINED: 8/27/10    POSTS: 69
POSTED: 6/05/13 4:43 PM