Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

Tri Shoe Recommendations
CREATED: 02/19/14 by cclark1025 REPLIES: 6
cclark1025's ravatar cclark1025    JOINED: 3/12/12    POSTS: 43
Tri Shoe Recommendations
POSTED: 2/19/14 9:06 AM

I've been using the same pair of busted cycling shoes since 2008, and it's time to upgrade.

I'm clearly out of the loop on what's good in shoes, so any recommendations would be appreciated.

I have pretty small/narrow feet for someone of my size (likely why I'm injured), but would be happy to hear all thoughts!

tgalbert's ravatar tgalbert    JOINED: 9/30/10    POSTS: 403
RE: Tri Shoe Recommendations
POSTED: 2/19/14 9:48 AM

I definitely advise trying on many pairs, as while one shoe works for one person it may not work for another.

Specialized does a pretty good job and fits narrow feet well, and a number of our partner stores nearby carry them. The Tri Expert shoe they make is simple and affordable - I've used that pair for the last few seasons and it's been solid.

LG will be doing some great sales on Thursday at our Member Meeting at Rev Cycles in Clarendon, so come try on some pairs there.

kmwpro's ravatar kmwpro    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 272
POSTED: 2/19/14 10:08 AM

I have small/narrow feet myself and have destroyed one pair of the Specialized Tri shoe and am on to my next pair. It took several years and thousands of miles, don't worry, they are great shoes. :)

I may have actually gotten a new pair that are one size too small if you happen to be the same size you are welcome to try these and see if you like them. (They are size 38 / 7.5) I got them pretty cheap.

chucifer    JOINED: 3/14/13    POSTS: 6
POSTED: 2/19/14 11:15 AM

I'll echo Trevor's point about trying different pairs as feet are unique.

However, one sticking point for me was that the straps had to fasten outwards so that if for whatever reason I wouldn't be fiddling with straps near my gears or other moving parts.