Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

Wetsuit, wear it or not to wear it?
CREATED: 09/09/10 by gabroe REPLIES: 12
gabroe's ravatar gabroe    JOINED: 8/27/10    POSTS: 69
Wetsuit, wear it or not to wear it?
POSTED: 9/09/10 6:04 PM

For the Nation's, I got the email saying that apparently the temperature of the Potomac is around 78, so looks like we are going to be able to use wetsuits. I'm not very experienced with the wetsuit, I've been training without it, I felt really god on the DC tri and I think I don't need it for that temperature but it might reduce my time a little, so I'm willing to give it a shot. But I am a little worried that I'll be too hot with the wetsuit, so I'm asking for suggestions, will you use it if the temp is around just @ 78? My wetsuit is sleeveless so I guess it should be a little cooler, but I'm still not sure.

bsull184's ravatar bsull184    JOINED: 2/6/10    POSTS: 283
RE: Wetsuit, wear it or not to wear it?
POSTED: 9/09/10 8:03 PM

If I can wear mine, I'm wearing it. For no other reason than the fact that I paid 170 stupid dollars for it earlier this year and didn't get to wear it at the DC Tri.

If I were you, I'd make sure I go to the practice swim on Saturday and test it out. Just do a short warmup and one or two fast 100 meter efforts to get your body temperature up and see what it feels like.

ncrcoach's ravatar ncrcoach    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 1065
POSTED: 9/09/10 8:32 PM

There is no way I am going to wear wetsuit on Sunday. It almost takes the jaws of life for me to get that thing off of me. I feel like Kramer from 'Seinfeld' when he wore jeans and Jerry couldn't pull them off.

bde1222's ravatar bde1222    JOINED: 7/13/09    POSTS: 31
POSTED: 9/09/10 10:46 PM

Maybe it's just me but I find it just as hard to put my tri top on when wet as it is to take my wetsuit off and already have my top on underneath. Speaking of, does anyone know if shirts are required for this race?