Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

Clip pedals and shoes for beginners
CREATED: 05/01/09 by kemerson REPLIES: 8
kemerson    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 64
Clip pedals and shoes for beginners
POSTED: 5/01/09 10:13 AM

When I attended the bike clinic at Contes I remember them showing us a good pedal for beginners but I dont remember what it was. It wasnt the teeny tiny one, I actually think it may have been a mountain bike pedal.

I just bought a bike (yeah me! :)) and I want to buy pedals and shoes. Can someone recommend a good basic pedal (easy in and out). Also being the total newbie I am, can you use any shoes with the pedals or do you need specific shoes for specific pedals. I am hoping to get this this weekend when I pick up my bike.

Thanks,

Kristen

dsgrunning's ravatar dsgrunning    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 1331
RE: Clip pedals and shoes for beginners
POSTED: 5/01/09 10:28 AM

When you buy the shoes, you will also need to buy cleats. Cleats are what attaches your shoes to the pedals. Cleats come in two different types. The are either "float" or "fixed." Get the float kind. It will will give more wiggle room while you are ridding and will make life a lot better for you.

Some pedals will allow you to adjust the tightness of the pedal to cleat connection. If you decrease the tightness then it will make getting into and out of a bit easier.

For the shoes, I recommend getting the ones with velcro. These are sometimes refered to as triathlon shoes. Most people find that velcros are easier to deal with than the little plastic straps.

The best pedals to get in and out of differs from person to person. The best way to find out the best one for you is to try it out in the store.

Tuan

postie    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 46
POSTED: 5/01/09 10:39 AM

Any pedal will take time to learn. I suggest putting your bike on a trainer or in a doorway to practice clipping in/out.