Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

OWS (New Thread)
CREATED: 06/20/09 by porfirio REPLIES: 12
porfirio    JOINED: 6/20/09    POSTS: 3
OWS (New Thread)
POSTED: 6/20/09 10:48 AM

Hi all. I just signed up w/DC Tri (just found out about it). I am new in the area & have struggled to get info. on open water swimming. Could someone help me out as google searches/other tri forums haven't produced results. I now know of the Gunston Manor OWS but that's every few weeks.

Also, if anyone's interested, I'd look forward to meeting up & scheduling some swims/car pooling (I work in DC so I'm local).

Hopefully, signing up w/DC Tri is the fist step!

LoryAR's ravatar LoryAR    JOINED: 6/20/09    POSTS: 2
RE: OWS (New Thread)
POSTED: 6/20/09 12:48 PM

Hi fellow newbie. I also just signed up with DC Tri in hopes of reducing some of my first time jitters. I am currently signed up for the Nations Triathlon race (Sept. 13). I started training in Feb of this year. But, feel like I really need to step it up a bit. I haven't experienced any OWSs and frankly that has me the most nervous. I've done the google searches too and found the Gunston Manor OWS as the closest opportunity. I plan on attending the one scheduled for July 11th, if your interested. I live in MD.

Good luck with your training!

dsgrunning's ravatar dsgrunning    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 1295
POSTED: 6/20/09 5:33 PM

Sandy Point near Annapolis MD and Lake Anna in Va are the two public places that most of the DCTri folks go to for their open water practice swims.

Having just come back from Lake Anna today, I can tell you that Lake Anna is more friendly towards new open water swimmers. They have swimming lanes for you to go back and forth. Think 200-300 meters swimming pool but in a lake with lane dividers and lifeguards. It's definitely a place you can go by yourself without worrying about swimming in the outdoors by yourself.