Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

another IMLOU race report
CREATED: 09/04/09 by kebeebe REPLIES: 8
kebeebe    JOINED: 2/28/09    POSTS: 38
another IMLOU race report
POSTED: 9/04/09 12:47 AM

“The trick is not to make the butterflies in your stomach go away, but to make them fly in formation.”
[sign on the bedroom door across the hall from where I slept in Louisville]

Game On - The truth is I’m not sure how many butterflies had time to congregate in my stomach with only ten days advance notice. Despite the late registration or perhaps because of it, I feel like I had been training for Ironman Louisville for both several years and not one single day. Literally since the Tuesday after the 2007 Boston Monsoon when I began commiserating with my first and formative training partner, Ironman racing has been the inevitable outcome, if not the immediate goal.

There is no perfect in Ironman, there is only crisis management….and I was not managing the internal crisis of deciding to sign up very well. I was waiting for someone to say “ok, now you’re ready to TRAIN for an Ironman,” as if I needed permission, when really I’ve been training for one for a long time and finishing wasn’t out of the question and doing well wasn’t out of the question either. It was time. The game was on. And the butterflies that showed up must have come from a marching band practice.