Partner Advertisements
DC Tri Club Forum {dialogue}

Previous Page   Page: 1   Next Page

Nation's Tri... late swim wave
CREATED: 09/01/13 by fets REPLIES: 5
fets's ravatar fets    JOINED: 8/15/13    POSTS: 11
Nation's Tri... late swim wave
POSTED: 9/01/13 6:09 PM

This is my first year doing Nation's and I am in swim wave 31... yay. Based on last year's lineups, I estimate that I will start 85 to 113 minutes after the race start (somewhere btwn 8:25 & 8:53 am). Is that a good estimation?

For those that have participated and started late in this race, what did you do during the wait/how did you manage it? Where do we wait? I could not find that information in the Athlete Guide. Will it be shaded? What was it like? Is there anything that the club does together, i.e. a tent, for members that have long wait times? Since there is a gear check-in, what do people bring? I am concerned that this is going to be a major drag and affect my race. Any advice on how to be best prepared would be extremely appreciated. Also, with ~2,800 racers ahead of me, how bad is the passing, especially on the bike leg?

Thanks in advance!!!!!
Stef

tgalbert's ravatar tgalbert    JOINED: 9/30/10    POSTS: 398
RE: Nation's Tri... late swim wave
POSTED: 9/03/13 9:25 AM

Hey Stef!

Sorry you're so far back in the waves. At least maybe you can take a nap? I've been in races like this where I'm X Waves back and I just had to occupy my time with my down devices. It's a good chance to make new friends or for you to just focus. It'll be so early that there won't be a need for shade, so don't worry about that. The club has a tent at the finish line, which won't be accessible for killing time, but you're not going to be wanting to walk all over the place. You could try having a friend/significant other/family member down there with you to help keep you motivated until it's time to get in your wave and begin your day.