How do I plan my 2020 Race Calendar

Home Forums Training Ambassador Workouts How do I plan my 2020 Race Calendar

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Chelsey Berlin
    Participant

Hi there, Ambassadors! I hope you don’t mind a question to ya’ll posted here.

I completed my first tri season this year thanks to NTP, and I just signed up for Ironman Maine 70.3 2020 — in my hometown! I’m so freakin’ excited.

That race is on August 30, and I’m eager to have other races to look forward to next spring/summer. And, that’s why I am writing, I would be so grateful for your help spacing out my 2020 season.

As a newbie, I don’t know much about how to plan out my races to ensure not only good performance but most importantly injury prevention. The Maine 70.3 is the only long course racing I plan to do in 2020. I’d love to do two other tri races beforehand at either an olympic or sprint distance—I need to work on my transition times—and perhaps Waterman’s (so much fun) afterward Maine. But, perhaps that’s too much considering the run and swim events I’m also interested in — more on that below.

This season I did the following races:
    5/4 – PeasantMan Sprint; 5/18 Club Duathlon; 6/23 – Club Race Sprint; 7/13 – Diamond in the Rough Oly; 9/27 – Waterman’s Oly.

I’m thinking of starting my 2020 season with the Rock n Rock half marathon on March 28 because running is my weakest sport and I thought it might be wise to do my first half marathon before my first half Ironman.

I have an ischiofemoral impingement (IFI), a narrowing of the space between the ischium and the femur, on my right side which is aggravated by running so I need to ramp up my mileage slowly and carefully.

I’m also thinking about Peaks to Portland race on July 25 which is a 2.4-mile swim in Maine. I thought it would be great practice for ocean water swimming, swimming in a wetsuit, and cold water temps.